Unit 144-TN Bridge Association Annual Meeting and Holiday Dinner December 3, 2011

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Tom Dixon - President Larry Alexander-Vice President Judy Knox –Secretary Jody Couch- Treasurer Al Stone Henry Francis Melody Patterson Cecile Skaggs Kathy Love

The meeting was called to order at 6:48pm by Tom Dixon, Unit 144 President. Tom stated that this is a separate Unit 144 meeting to conduct Unit 144 business only. This is not a meeting of M.A. Lightman Bridge Club members. A separate Membership meeting will be held for the M.A. Lightman Bridge Club sometime in the Spring..

Reading of the Minutes- Judy Knox

A motion was made by Henry Francis to approve last year's minutes and to waive the reading of the minutes. A hand count was made. 21 were in favor of reading the minutes and 44 opposed. The motion passed and the minutes from the December 10, 2010 Annual meeting were approved without being read.

Treasurer's Report - Jody Couch

\$50,716 All Tournaments (25,872) Expenses \$24,843 Ending Balance

Unit 144 members deceased since December, 2010- Russell Strauss

This year's reading of the deceased member's list is dedicated to the memory of Dell Parker. Dell has read the Deceased Member's list since the first Annual Meeting took place. She was a hard worker, excellent bridge player, and served as Secretary for the Unit for many, many years. She and her husband Wendell are now both on the list. Dell will be greatly missed by all Unit 144 members.

Merle Berry Mrs Kay Brackley Mrs Sylvia Breakstone Agnes M Cianciolo Mrs Virginia Dabney Mrs Emily M Davis Mrs Dorothy P Dawson Mrs Betty Donaghy Mrs Lynn Ellis Chuck E Evans Mrs Ursula I Green Mrs Vannie E Huey Mrs Bess B Katzen Mrs Margo A LaManna Mr Alan W Oaks Mrs Dell Parker Mr Wendell H Parker Mrs Willie B Shockley Mr William B Smit Mrs Barbara R Tillman

After Russell read the deceased member's names a moment of silence was observed for these deceased members and their families. They will all be greatly missed by Unit 144.

Unit 144-TN Bridge Association Annual Meeting and Holiday Dinner December 3, 2011

The following people were thanked for their work on preparing for the Annual Meeting today:

- **U** Donna Touliatos for helping do the dinner and helping set it up.
- 4 Ed Davis who came early to help set up for the dinner.
- ↓ Thanks to everyone who donated desserts and food for the dinner.
- **4** Thanks to Shane and Edward who cooked the brisket.
- **4** Thanks to V.T., Jody Couch and Debby Rosenberg for counting the votes.

Unit 144 Website Renovation- Deborah Lackey

A special thanks goes to Deborah Lackey who now lives in Oregon. She has done a fantastic job renovating the web site. She is changing the server to word press so it will be easier for everyone to post information to the web page. We are thankful to her for all her work.

Tournament Chairs - V.T. Gala and Steve Hodorowski

Thanks to Steve and V.T. for all their hard work in running the Tunica, Nate Silverstein and Sky Rocket Tournaments for all these years. Thanks to all of you for providing all the great food for Hospitality for the Tournaments for all these years.

Nate Silverstein Tournament January 5-8, 2012 - Judy Knox and Sherry Thaxton Co-Chairs

Jackie Stewart will be the Hospitality Chair this year. We are asking everyone to please bring food again in 2012 to the Nate Silverstein Tournament. Please see Jackie Stewart to ask her what t o bring. We will award Section Top Awards this year and we will have a registration desk. We will also have a 299er Swiss Team on Sunday if there are at least 6 tables. You can call 1-800-445-8667 or 901-684-6664 for room reservations. Contact Judy Knox at 901-737-8087 if you have any questions or would like to help in any way.

NABC Tournament - March 15-25, 2012- Don Paterson and Henry Francis - Co Chairs

We have many committee Chairs working on this Tournament. We now have a real schedule and every event has a sponsor. We have had amazing results. We are ahead of all our deadlines. The success of any tournament depends on the people. So, let's all continue to help and have a good time doing it. Please contact Joyce and Al Stone if you would like to volunteer to help out in any way with the NABC Tournament in 2012. All Tournament Committee Chairs were asked to stand.

NABC Fund Raising Committee Chair - Cecile Skaggs

Cecile brought a quilt to show us that was made by Joanne Bird. She is donating a beautiful hand -made quilt to the NABC Fund Raising Committee. We are selling raffle tickets. The winner will be announced one week before the NABC Tournament starts. The tickets are \$1.00 each or 6 tickets for \$5.00. See Cecile Skaggs to purchase your ticket. We are very thankful to Joanne Bird for this contribution.

New Board Members announced

The election result was announced by Tom Dixon in no particular order:

- 1. Al Stone
- 2. Cary Rodgers
- 3. Cecile Skaggs
- 4. Ed Davis
- 5. Jackie Stewart

There will be a Board meeting tomorrow for all new Board members. We will elect new officers at 12:30 pm on December 4, 2011.

NEW BUSINESS:

Ellen Burns made a motion to have 2 separate ballots for next year. One will be used by M.A. Lightman members and one will be used by Unit 144 members only. So if you are not a member of M.A. Lightman, and you are a member of Unit 144, you would use the ballot marked "Unit 144". If you are a member of M.A. Lightman and Unit 144, you would use the M.A. Lightman ballot. The motion was seconded by Amy Downing. Jack Verkler challenged the motion as "out of order" since these are 2 separate entities. Donna Touliatos agreed with the challenge.

Tom stated the Question for a vote - Do we want to have 2 separate ballots for the next Board Of Directors election? One ballot with Unit 144 at the top and one with M.A. Lightman at the top? In favor vote Aye and opposed vote no. The No's have it. The motion failed.

Unit 144-TN Bridge Association Annual Meeting and Holiday Dinner December 3, 2011

Russell Strauss made a motion to set up a special Steering Committee to study how to set up separate Unit 144 and M.A. Lightman Boards. This committee will be set up by the next membership meeting in the Spring. The motion passed.

Jerry Drennan made a motion to adjourn. The motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 7:28 pm by Tom Dixon.

The bridge game started at 7:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

JUdy KNOX Judy Knox, Secretary Unit 144 & M.A. Lightman Bridge Club