Unit 144 TN Bridge Association Annual Meeting and Holiday Dinner December 1, 2012

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Larry Alexander - President Cary Rodgers- Vice President Judy Knox –Secretary Jody Couch- Treasurer Kathy Love Tom Dixon Jackie Stewart Henry Francis Al Stone

The meeting was called to order at 6:30pm by Larry Alexander, Unit 144 President. A motion was made to dispense with the reading of the minutes from last year and to approve them as written. The motion passed. The Treasurer's Report cannot be made tonight since Bill Frazee is our accountant and has our check book. His father passed away and he cannot be here tonight to bring the check book.

Larry introduced Jackie Stewart to read the Deceased Members list after which a moment of silence was observed in their memory.

Unit 144 members marked deceased since December 2011

Mrs Ramelle S Cortese MEMPHIS Ms Marsha J Grant MEMPHIS Ms Anne L Haneghan MEMPHIS Howard D Hardgrave MEMPHIS Mr Ernest A Marquette III MEMPHIS Ms Margaret Z Nelson MEMPHIS Mary A Nolen COLLIERVILLE Mr Norman Schuback MEMPHIS Mrs Jean A Swann MEMPHIS Mr Dowell (Rip) C Wheat GERMANTOWN Mr Tom W Williams MEMPHIS Carl Langschmidt

The following people were thanked for their work on preparing for the Annual Meeting today:

- ↓ Donna Touliatos for decorating the club for the party.
- ♣ Cary Rodgers, our caterer, and her staff.
- 4 Al Stone for furnishing and tending the bar.
- **4** V.T. Gala and his team for counting the votes.

Many things continue to be done for this unit and this club, things which take a lot of time and effort. On behalf of all of us I want to issue a special thank you to the following:

- Cecile Skaggs for being our District 10 delegate.
- Joyce McMonagle for being chair of our nominating committee this year.
- Joyce Stone and Janice Van Dyke for teaching Easybridge! Classes this year.
- ↓ Don Paterson and Henry Francis for their outstanding job Co-Chairing the NABC.
- Cecile Skaggs for raising over \$57,000 to support the NABC Tournament.
- Cecile Skaggs for being named delegate to the ACBL National Charity Committee.
- 4 Carol Paterson was appointed to be a member of the ACBL National Goodwill Committee.
- Judy Knox and Sherry Thaxton for chairing the last Nate Silverstein Tournament.
- Judy Knox for Chairing the Skyrocket Tournament in July.
- **Ed** Davis for the success of the Delta Dealin' Tournament in Tunica.

Nate Silverstein Tournament- Judy Knox Chair

The Tournament will be January 3-6, 2013. The fee will be \$11 per person per session. Please bring food for all sessions. It will be at the Hilton hotel 939 Ridgelake Blvd. in Memphis. Call 1-800-445-8667 or 901-684-6664 for reservations. Jackie Stewart and Bob Williams – Hospitality, Judy Knox, Partnership Chair.

Russell Strauss thanked everyone for having and for attending the Mimi Strauss Memorial Game in September on Saturday afternoon. It was a touching memorial for Mimi and it was beautifully done in her memory.

Unit 144 TN Bridge Association Annual Meeting and Holiday Dinner December 1, 2012

New Board Members announced

The election results was announced by V.T. Gala in alphabetical order:

- Larry Alexander Ed Davis 1.
- 2.
- 3. Judy Dever
- 4. Tom Dixon
- 5. Judy Knox

The meeting was adjourned at 7pm. The bridge game started at 7:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Judy Knox Judy Knox, Secretary Unit 144